Category: Sex Crimes

Sex Crimes | No Cuffs

California Sex Offenders Penalties Increase

California sex offenders face some of the toughest penalties in the country.

As such, part and parcel of punishment for sex crime conviction is to join the sex offender registry for life. as Megan’s Law allows for much of the personal information of a sex offender to be publicly available.  Of course, some civil liberties groups and convicted sex offenders want to see change. They argue that a one-time conviction should not remove all future opportunities. However, the general public supports tough penalties, and may even be pressing for further restrictions.

Penalties for California Sex Offenders

Penal Code § 290 requires convicted sex offenders to register as such. Registration takes place in their city or with the sheriff’s department directly. Additionally, law requires the offenders check in every year on their birthdays and with any change of address.

Convictions which may require registration include:

  • Sexual Battery;
  • Rape;
  • Indecent Exposure;
  • Lewd Acts with a Child;
  • Child Pornography Crimes; or
  • Child Molestation.

Although the laws are strict, there are a few exemptions. Indeed some people convicted of sex crimes do not have to register as sex offenders.

Discretion of Judges to Lift Registration

Judges have the discretion to spare some adult offenders from the lifetime sex offender registration. This discretion occurs when the offending sexual intercourse was non-forcible. For example; a young adult who has consensual sex with someone underage may not face the requirement. After all, the registry is a truly life-altering sentence.

In 2006, discretion for judges was expanded. Here, a California Supreme Court decision gives judges more leeway in cases of oral sex.  Judges received leeway to be treat oral sex differently than full intercourse.

Discretion Lifted

However, that said, the same court changed their position earlier this year. A convicted sex offender who was not required to register based on a judge’s discretion. Sadly, the man violated his probation by working with teenage girls in the Miss Rio Linda Pageant. Those young girls faced exposure to a sex offender. As a result the court claimed judges were applying their 2006 ruling too broadly. They state it wasn’t intended for older defendant engaging in sexual activity with much younger victims.

In this case, the offender was 48-years-old at the time. He received a conviction for oral copulation and penetration with a foreign object of a 17-year-old girl.

More Prison Time

Taking back discretion is not the only place the law is coming down even harder on sex offenders. A California state senator introduced a bill to increase prison time for sex offenders who remove GPS trackers. Sen. Patricia Bates of Laguna Niguel authored the bill that cruised through the senate with unanimous support. SB 722 make it a felony for the highest level of sex offenders to disable or remove required GPS bracelets. Violation includes up to 3 years in prison.

The bill was introduced after two homeless sex offenders kidnapped and killed four women from Anaheim and Santa Ana. They served a few months in prison previously for cutting off their GPS bracelets. Determined as they were, they did this twice.

Unemployment and Poverty

The laws limiting where sex offenders can live, increasing penalties, and requiring lifetime registration are popular with the public. However, the real-life impact of such laws could bring about a lifetime of unemployment and poverty for convicts. Many of whom have a hard time finding employment after they serve their sentence. Additionally, many are forever shunned by the communities where they live.

Frank Lindsay received a conviction of lewd and lascivious acts with a minor under 14-years-old when he was 26-years-old, in 1979. After serving his sentence and probation, he tried to move on with his life. In 1996, the creation of the public federal sex offender list put Lindsay’s name online. Of course, his life hasn’t been the same since. Neighbors and business contacts no longer treat him the same way, and one man even threatened him after breaking into his house.

Due to his experience, Lindsey takes part in an organization called California Reform Sex Offender Laws. In part, their mission is to create a tiered system for California sex offenders. This ensures that those each offense receives a different level of punishment. They argue that one person with a conviction of public nudity is not in the same category as violent rapists. Civil rights advocates argue public registries do not reduce sexual crimes or recidivism. Now, an estimated 6,000 registrants of convicted California sex offenders may be homeless, and as a result, difficult to monitor.

Get the Help You Need

The Kavinoky Law firm hires only the most experienced criminal defense attorneys in Los Angeles. If you find yourself facing a criminal conviction, don’t do it alone. You can call us anytime 24/7, 365 days a year. We don’t sleep – so you can.

Sex Crime Charges

California Sex Crime Charges

There are many criminal charges that can be filed in a California sex crime case, and all of them carry potentially harsh punishment that can include jail or prison time and mandatory registration as a sex offender.  Fortunately, an experienced California defense lawyer can aggressively fight a sex crime charge. The top California defense lawyers of The Kavinoky Law Firm are well-versed in the most advanced defenses to sex crime charges, and will take every step available to fight for your rights.

California sex crime charges fall into two categories – misdemeanors and felonies. The main difference between the two is the possible punishment they carry. Misdemeanors are punishable by up to one year in county jail, and can also result in a number of other penalties, including fines and sex offender registration. Felonies are punishable by a year or more in state prison and other substantial repercussions. Some California sex offenses fall into a category of offenses known as wobblers, which means they can be charged as misdemeanors or felonies. Prosecutors often choose to charge wobbler sex offenses as felonies because of the potential for harsher punishment.

These are some of the charges that can be filed in a California sex crime prosecution:

Internet pornography – also called sexually exploiting a child – can be charged against an adult who knowingly develops or exchanges any data or images that depict a minor engaged in sexual conduct. Advertising or distributing obscene materials or possessing such materials with the same content can also result in criminal charges.

Lewd or lascivious acts can be filed as a felony against an individual who willfully and lewdly commits a lewd or lascivious act with a child under the age of 14 or as a misdemeanor or felony against a person who does so with a child who is 14 or 15 years old if the accused is at least 10 years older than the child. Lewd or lascivious acts are prohibited under California Penal code section 288.

Rape can be charged against anyone who has sexual intercourse with someone (who is not the spouse of the accused) either against that person’s will or without that person’s consent. Spousal rape can be charged under similar circumstances when the accuser and the defendant are married. Statutory rape may be charged under any circumstances where the alleged victim is under 18.

Oral copulation charges can be filed if the accused either gives or receives oral sex with any person against his or her will. A sodomy charge can be filed when an individual’s penis or anus comes into contact with the penis or anus of another against that person’s will. If the accused uses a foreign object to penetrate the genital or anal opening of another under any of these circumstances, the individual can face additional charges.

Indecent exposure is a California sex crime charge that can be brought against an individual who either exposes him- or herself or persuades another to do so in a public place (or in a private home without consent) if the action is either offensive or done to provoke vicious or lewd thoughts.

Prostitution (California Penal code 647b) and/or pimping and pandering charges can be brought against an individual who solicits a prostitute, runs a “brothel” or procures another for the purpose of prostitution. If the accused is pimping a minor or pandering with a minor, additional repercussions can be applied.

Authorities can file bigamy charges against an individual who is simultaneously married to more than one person. Incest charges can be brought against individuals who marry or have sexual relationships with one another.
An individual who sexually assaults an animal for his or her own sexual gratification will be charged with sexually assaulting an animal.
Abduction for marriage may be charged against an individual who either forces a woman to marry him or another or against an individual who causes a woman to be defiled.

An individual who commits an act that is sexual in nature against a minor and thereby causes that minor to become a dependant of the state can be charged with contributing to the delinquency of a minor. Any sex offense that is committed against a minor will likely result in enhanced sentencing, as that is typically considered an aggravating factor.

The bottom line is that California sex crime charges carry extremely harsh penalties, and your only chance of avoiding them is to fight back with the help of a skilled attorney. The experienced California defense lawyers of The Kavinoky Law Firm are skilled in every aspect of defending sex crime charges, and will do everything possible to safeguard your freedom and your reputation. Contact a top California defense attorney today at 1-800-NO-CUFFS for a free consultation.

Defenses to Rape and Attempted Rape

Defenses to Rape and Attempted Rape

Rape is defined in California as sexual intercourse with a person without his or her consent or that is against his or her will. Attempted rape will be charged when an individual specifically intends to rape another but doesn’t actually penetrate the other due to a variety of circumstances, the most typical situation being that the alleged victim resisted the accused individual’s efforts. Either charge will be prosecuted as a felony and carries severe penalties, which may include up to three, six or eight years in state prison, probation, community service or labor, medical treatment and a requirement to register as a sex offender, pursuant to California Penal Code 290.

Defenses to these charges exist and can be successfully argued by a California criminal defense lawyer who specializes in the unique and complex field of law that comprises sex offenses. The California sex crime defense lawyers at The Kavinoky Law Firm know exactly how to effectively convey these defenses to the judge and jury in ways that portray their clients in a favorable light. They critically analyze and investigate every piece of evidence that has been collected with respect to the charge, which includes the alleged victim’s complaint, any and all witness statements, all police reports and any DNA or other physical evidence. As a result of the diligence with which they review each and every case, their clients gain a powerful advantage, as the attorney will undoubtedly uncover weaknesses in the prosecution’s case, which can lead to a reduction of the charges or possibly an early dismissal of the case.

Some of the most common defenses that are applicable to California rape and attempted rape charges are consent, insufficient evidence, no witnesses, a lack of physical evidence or mistaken identity. With respect to consent, it should be noted that an existing or previous sexual relationship between the accused and the alleged victim will not automatically imply consent, nor will the alleged victim’s request that the accused use a condom or other birth control. Depending on the facts of the individual case, a seasoned criminal attorney will know which defenses will be the most likely to find favor with the judge and jury and will know how to apply them correctly. Once the lawyer has determined the most appropriate defenses to pursue, he or she will move to suppress any evidence that was obtained through an illegal search or seizure, that was collected during a prejudicial police line-up or that in any other way violated his or her client’s constitutional rights. He or she will further highlight any evidence that is helpful to the client (especially if it was ignored by the police or prosecutor), will point out any inconsistent statements made by the alleged victim, any witnesses or the police and will question the alleged victim’s credibility and criminal history in an effort to uncover any other sexual assault allegations or issues that could be relevant to his or her believability.

The skilled attorneys at The Kavinoky Law Firm will employ every resource to ensure that their clients receive the most vigorous, comprehensive defense possible. They are dedicated to protecting the rights of all their clients and will treat an accused sex offender with the compassion, respect and discretion. With law offices located in Los Angeles and throughout the state, they are easily accessible to those in need of a California sex crime defence attorney. For outstanding legal advice and the most trusted representation, contact the Kavinoky law firm today for a confidential, free consultation.

Registration Relief

Sex Offender Registration

Although California sex crimes can subject the accused to lengthy prison sentences and heavy fines, perhaps the most brutal penalty (because of its social stigma) that such an individual faces is registration as a sex offender, pursuant to Penal Code 290. California Penal Code 290 provides that an individual who is required to register as a sex offender does so for the rest of his or her life while residing, working or going to school in this state. Upon registration, he or she must pay $300 for a first conviction and $500 upon a second or subsequent conviction, to the Department of Justice in addition to any fines imposed in the current case.

The sex offenses that require registration include spousal rape when accomplished or attempted using force, violence or threats, most instances of rape, rape or sexual penetration when acting in concert with another, pimping and pandering with a minor, enticing a female unmarried minor into prostitution, procuring a child under 16 years of age for lewd or lascivious acts, committing a sex act where consent was procured by fear and false representations, aggravated sexual assault of a child, abducting a minor for prostitution, incest, lewd or lascivious acts with a child under 14, continuous sexual abuse of a child, sodomy, oral copulation, penetration with a foreign object, indecent exposure, certain crimes dealing with obscene materials, using harmful matter to seduce a minor, and conduct involving lewd or lascivious acts that fall under “contributing to the delinquency of a minor”.

The accused must personally register his or her primary address (or addresses if the accused has more than one address where he or she regularly resides) with his or her local law enforcement agency within 5 days of the requirement. A student or employee of a college or any other institution of higher learning must meet that same requirement and must also register with the campus police department (if there is one) within 5 days of the requirement, within 5 days of commencing enrollment or employment at such an institution, and within 5 days of leaving such an institution. All individuals are also required to update their information yearly, within 5 days of their birthday. An individual labeled a “sexually violent predator” (that is, one who has committed a sex offense by means of force, violence, duress or threats, and who has been diagnosed with a mental disorder that makes the accused a danger to the health and safety of others) is required to update his or her information every 90 days. The registering agency then passes the information along to the Department of Justice Violent Crime Information Network. People who live out-of-state but work in California must register in the same manner if they are registered sex offenders in the state in which they live. Changes of address or name changes must be reported within 5 days to one’s local agency as well. In addition, if an individual who has registered as a sex offender in California moves, he or she may further be required to register in any other state where he or she relocates. Failure to follow any of these requirements within the specified timeframe will be penalized with an additional criminal charge of either a misdemeanor or felony, depending on how the original charge was filed, punishable by up to one year in the county jail and fines up to $1,000 for a misdemeanor, or by 16 months or two or three years in state prison for a felony.

The consequences of registering as a sex offender are life changing. When charged with a California sex crime, it is critical that the accused hires a criminal defense lawyer who specializes in this unique area of the law in order to defend against this severe penalty. The exceptional criminal attorneys at The Kavinoky Law Firm have mastered California sex crime defense and have successfully defended countless individuals, treating each with compassion and respect. For an unparalleled defense, contact them at one of their Los Angeles or other California law offices today for a free consultation.

Abducting and Selling Others

Human trafficking involves the kidnapping, sale, transportation of an individual.

Human Trafficking and Sex Crimes

The abduction and/or sale of others for purposes of:

  1. marriage,
  2. illicit relations,
  3. cohabitation and/or
  4. custody for immoral purposes are all sex crimes in California.

All of these are felonies in the eyes of the state. Consequently, the state vigorously prosecutes these crimes. If facing one of these offenses, it is crucial that the accused immediately contacts and hires a criminal defense lawyer. Make sure he specializes in California sex crime defense. This is most noteworthy – the attorney must know California sex crime defense. This is in order to secure the most qualified representation. Additionally, its the best tactic to best avoid the severe penalties that result from these charges.

Abduction

Abduction for marriage or defilement (sexual intercourse) takes a few routes to arrive at conviction.

Abductions charges come to those who takes a person unlawfully, against their will, and by force, menace or duress, and

  1. Compels them to marry, or defiles them or;
  2. Compels him or her to live with the accused in an illicit relationship, against his or her consent, or to so live with another.

If convicted of these offenses, the accused faces imprisonment in state prison for 16 months or two or three years.

With respect to these charges, it is not necessary to prove force when the accused “takes any woman or takes another.” In fact, if improper solicitations or inducements accomplished the act, this is sufficient. Also unnecessary is a showing where the accused “took” the individual. Whether they went out of the city, county, state or country, it is only pertinent that he or she intended to detain and conceal the individual.

When sentencing these charges, it will be up to the judge to decide whether to concurrently sentence (that is, to allow the accused to serve both sentences at the same time) or consecutively sentence (that is, to require that the defendant serve both sentences back-to-back) any other crimes that were simultaneously committed.

Valuation for Trade of Humans

Receiving money for placing a person for purposes of cohabitation is another possible charge. This charge goes against any individual who receives money or any other valuable thing for, or on account of, placing in custody another for the purpose of causing that person to live with any person to whom he or she is not married.

If convicted of this offense, the accused faces imprisonment in state prison for 16 months or two or three years. Restraint of the alleged victim’s liberty is essential to constitute a crime under this section. The punishment will be the same for the individual who sells any person or receives money or any other valuable thing for or on account of his or her placing in custody, for immoral purposes, another person (regardless of whether that individual consented).

Regardless of which charges you face, only a criminal attorney who really understands human trafficking can help. This complex and specific area of the law truly needs a lawyer equipped to handle these types of offenses.

Hire the Best Defense

The exceptional criminal defense attorneys at The Kavinoky Law Firm have a firm knowledge of the law. They know the complexities involved in human trafficking and California sex crime defense. Therefore, they’re the most qualified to help an individual avoid the devastating consequences. Furthermore, they apply all applicable defenses to the court in a way that effectively casts reasonable doubt.

To speak to a trusted attorney at one of their conveniently located Los Angeles or other California law offices, contact The Kavinoky Law Firm today for a free consultation.

About Darren Kavinoky and The Kavinoky Law Firm.

Darren Kavinoky receives recognition over and over for his commitment to clients and for being a top California defense lawyer. The Los Angeles Magazine repeatedly regards him as a Super Lawyer , and the American Trial Lawyers Association highlighted him as one of the Top 100 Trial Lawyers in California. Additionally, he is the legal analyst and special correspondent for the syndicated television program The Insider, and is a sought-after guest on shows that include Entertainment Tonight, Dr. Phil, NBC’s Today Show, and various programs on CNN and the Headline News Channel. Follow Darren on Twitter @DarrenKavinoky or www.DarrenKavinoky.com.

 

Spousal Rape

Spousal Rape

Spousal rape, in California, is a severe sex crime that will result in a felony charge, punishable by three, six or eight years in state prison. An individual who suffers a spousal rape conviction must also register as a sex offender, in accordance with California Penal Code 290, and may be required to pay up to $1,000 to a battered women’s shelter and to reimburse his or her spouse for any reasonable costs of counseling or other services that the court determines were incurred as a result of the defendant’s offense. It should be noted that community property may not be used to pay these costs until all of the defendant’s separate property has been used. In order to best avoid these devastating and life-altering penalties, it is vital that the accused hires a criminal defense lawyer who has mastered this unique area of the law. The outstanding criminal attorneys at The Kavinoky Law Firm have done just that. They excel in California sex crime defense and are well-qualified to provide their clients with unsurpassed representation and the most comprehensive defenses available. Their thorough understanding of this complex field of law provides their clients with a tremendous advantage over other lawyers, which is clearly reflected in and exemplified by their exceptional results.

Spousal rape can be charged under a number of circumstances. It may be charged if it was accomplished against the spouse’s will by means of force, violence, duress, menace, or fear of immediate and unlawful bodily injury to the spouse or another. It may be charged if the spouse was prevented from resisting due to intoxication and this condition was known, or reasonably should have been known, by the accused. It may be charged if the spouse was unaware or unconscious of the nature of the act, and this was known to the accused. It may be charged if the accused threatened to kidnap, falsely imprison, seriously injure or kill the spouse or any other person, and there was a reasonable possibility that the accused could have executed the threat. It may be charged if the accused threatened to use the authority of a public official to incarcerate, arrest, or deport the spouse or another, and the spouse had a reasonable belief that the accused was a public official, regardless of whether or not the accused was, in fact, a public official. It should be noted that attempted spousal rape will also be prosecuted as a felony if the accused intended to rape his or her spouse, but due to some intervening circumstance (which is typically that the spouse was able to successfully resist or fight off the accused), he or she was not able to commit the actual offense.

Consent is the most commonly argued defense to this crime. Although consent will not be inferred from the fact that the couple was involved in an ongoing sexual relationship, it can be used as a defense if the accused can show that the spouse consented to the intercourse, and has subsequently filed a false allegation out of revenge, anger or jealousy. Insufficient evidence, which includes a lack of witnesses or physical evidence, can also be raised as a defense under appropriate circumstances by a seasoned sex crime defense attorney.

Spousal rape is a serious crime that has serious repercussions. To properly defend against it, the accused needs an attorney who knows how to conduct an effective witness interview and examination, who knows how to recognize all of the evidentiary issues that could lead to suppressed evidence or an early dismissal of the case, and who understands how to successfully communicate all applicable defenses to the judge and jury. The unparalleled attorneys at The Kavinoky Law Firm know what it takes to win, and they give 110% to each client in an effort to provide the best defense possible. To secure outstanding representation from attorneys known for their exceptional legal advice, contact The Kavinoky Law Firm today for a free consultation.

Statute of Limitations

California’s Statute of Limitations Relating to Sex Offenses

A statute of limitations is a certain time allowed by law that a prosecuting agency has to commence prosecution, which means that the prosecution of a criminal case will be barred if the case isn’t filed within the statutory period. The statute of limitations varies, depending on the maximum sentence of the underlying sex crime, and on the specific facts of the case. When determining which statute applies, the law looks to the maximum punishment allowed by law, regardless of the punishment that is actually sought or imposed, and enhancements do not factor into that calculation. If more than one time period applies to the same offense, the controlling time will be the period that expires last.

An experienced sex crime defense attorney is aware of the statute of limitations for each offense, and will immediately move to dismiss a case that is beyond the specified period. The exceptional attorneys at The Kavinoky Law Firm pride themselves on their thorough reviews of every case, which allows them to determine the defenses that are most likely to ensure favorable outcomes for their clients.

Although there is quite a bit of variation, the general statutory schedule relating to California’s sex offenses is as follows:

The prosecution of a felony that is punishable by eight or more years in state prison (for example, most instances of rape, some crimes relating to obscene materials, and certain acts of sodomy or oral copulation) must typically be commenced within six years of the offense. However, if the crime is a felony offense that requires sex offender registration, pursuant to California’s Penal Code 290, the prosecution must be commenced within ten years of the offense. With respect to these crimes, an additional extension applies when DNA evidence is involved. The prosecution of one of these felonies in which DNA conclusively establishes the identity of a suspect may be commenced within one year of that finding if the offense was committed on or after January 1, 2001, and biological evidence collected in connection with the offense is analyzed for DNA type no later than two years after the date of the offense.

If the alleged felony offense is for rape, sodomy, lewd or lascivious acts, continuous sexual abuse of a child or oral copulation, and the victim was younger than 18 years of age at the time of the offense, the prosecution may be commenced at any time prior to the victim’s 28th birthday. Similarly, the statute of limitations may be extended by one year (if necessary) when a person of any age makes a report to a California law enforcement agency that he or she was the victim of rape, sodomy, lewd or lascivious acts, oral copulation, continuous sexual abuse or forced penetration as a minor. This extension may take place if the generally applicable statute of limitations expired, if the crime involved substantial sexual conduct, and if there is corroborating evidence to support the allegation. It must be noted that if the person reporting is 21 years old at the time of the report, the corroborating evidence must be clear and convincing.

If the charged felony offense is for employing a minor to pose for or perform obscene sexual acts, the prosecution must be commenced within 10 years of the date of production of the pornographic material.

Finally, the prosecution of misdemeanor sex crimes must typically be commenced within one year of the offense.

For more information on the statute of limitations concerning a specific sex crime, contact the knowledgeable and experienced California sex crime defense attorneys at The Kavinoky Law Firm today for a free consultation and for unsurpassed legal representation.

Bigamy

Bigamy is considered a sex crime in California. It takes place when a married individual marries more than one person concurrently.

Bigamy Conviction in California

If convicted of this offense, the accused faces either a misdemeanor or a felony. It is punishable by up to one year in county jail or state prison. Conversely, the defendant may receive a maximum $10,000 fine.

Probation and community service or labor typically also accompany the punishments of this conviction. This crime is typically regarded as a “socially unacceptable crime.” As such, it is important that the accused to hire an experienced criminal attorney. Hire one who knows how to get through to the judge and jurors by effectively arguing the defenses that are applicable to this offense. The attorneys at The Kavinoky Law Firm excel in California sex crime defense.

Burden of Proof

Every person who has a living husband or wife and who marries another is guilty of bigamy. A defendant charged with bigamy is in an unusual situation. Since, the burden of proof lies in his or her hands, it’s unusual.

Typically, a prosecutor works to prove the entirety of a criminal charge. Then, a defendant need not say anything at all. In a bigamy case, the prosecutor must only prove that there were two marriages. Also, he must prove the first spouse is still living. However, he is not required to prove that the first marriage was still in force at the time of the second marriage. In turn, it is up to the defendant to prove otherwise.

Bigamy Defense

The individual charged with bigamy offers a defense essentially by proving absenteeism. That is, the defendant proves his or her first spouse was absent for five successive years. During this time, there was no indication that he or she was still living.

Another option is to show that the first marriage is:

  1. Void,
  2. Annulled, or
  3. Dissolved by the court. It therefore follows that no bigamy exists where a court grants legal termination of a first marriage by annulment or divorce prior to the second marriage. However, a defective or fraudulent divorce is not a defense to a charge of bigamy. A good faith belief in divorce or unlawful marriage is not a defense either.

A bigamy charge may also be filed against an individual who knowingly and willfully marries the husband or wife of another, in any case in which that husband or wife could be prosecuted for bigamy. Such an individual also faces a felony, punishable by a minimum fine of $5,000 or by imprisonment in state prison.

Bigamy laws are serious and carry heavy fines and possible state prison sentences.

In order to best avoid serious penalties and the social stigma that results a bigamist/sex offender conviction, it is imperative to hire a criminal defense lawyer. Hire a lawyer who focuses on the unique issues and emotions that are commonly come in this field of law.

Hire an Experienced Attorney

The unparalleled criminal defense attorneys at The Kavinoky Law Firm firmly grasp the complexities related to California sex crime defense. They know what it takes to obtain favorable outcomes for their clients. Additionally, they understand how to critically analyze a sex crime police report. They know how to examine percipient witnesses. Due to this, this know how to spot the weaknesses in the prosecution’s case. Of course, all of which are in an effort to have the client’s case either reduced or dismissed.

Contact one of their many Los Angeles or other California law offices today. Request a free consultation and help for an unsurpassed bigamy defense.

Fine a Lawyer Near Me

Sodomy

Sodomy is a California sex crime that takes place when there is any sexual contact between the penis of one person and the anus of another. Sodomy may be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the severity of the case. Regardless of how it is classified, a conviction carries the requirement that the guilty party register as a sex offender, in accordance with California Penal Code 290. A skilled criminal defense lawyer who specializes in California sex crimes is the key to securing a favorable outcome, as he or she is the most qualified to represent a client charged with this type of emotionally unique and socially stigmatized case.

Sodomy, much like rape and oral copulation, may be charged under a variety of circumstances. The more aggravated the offense, the more severe the punishment. Some of the less serious sodomy charges involve situations where the accused (who can be any age) engages in sodomy with a person who is under the age of 18, where the accused engages in sodomy with another while both are incarcerated or where the accused engages in sodomy with another while both are confined in a state hospital or other treatment facility, and the alleged victim is incapable of giving consent due to his or her mental or physical disability (a fact which is known or should have been known by the accused). Under any of these scenarios, a defendant would face either a misdemeanor or a felony, punishable by a maximum one-year jail or prison sentence.

The other circumstances under which an individual may be charged with this crime lead to more serious penalties. Anyone over 21 years of age who engages in sodomy with another who is under 16 years of age will automatically be charged with a felony. Likewise, anyone who engages in sodomy with someone who is under 14 years of age and who is more than 10 years younger than he or she will automatically be charged with a felony and faces three, six or eight years in state prison. It should be noted that attempted sodomy will be criminally prosecuted as well, since the act would have been accomplished but for some intervening force (which typically means that the alleged victim was able to defend against the unwanted act).

Any force, intimidation or threats that the accused used in order to sodomize the alleged victim will also lead to a three, six or eight year state prison sentence. Similarly, if the alleged victim was unconsciousness at the time of the alleged offense (and that fact was known by the accused), or lacked the capacity to consent due to intoxication (and that fact was either known or should have been known by the accused), consented (believing that the accused was his or her spouse because the accused induced him or her into believing so) or lacked the capacity to consent due to a mental or physical disability (and that fact was either known or should have been known by the accused), the accused will face the same three, six or eight year state prison sentence.

The most aggravated sodomy offense occurs when an individual voluntarily acts in concert with another person, either personally or by aiding and abetting that other person, to engage in sodomy against the will of the alleged victim. Under that type of scenario, the accused faces imprisonment in the omit state prison for five, seven or nine years. It must be noted that consecutive sentencing applies to California sex offenses, which means that a defendant convicted of multiple illegal sex acts could actually be imprisoned for life.

The outstanding criminal attorneys at The Kavinoky Law Firm meticulously analyze and review all the facts of every case to determine what defenses will be the most effective and which evidentiary issues might lead to a reduced charge or an early dismissal. They have mastered California sex crime defense, which is clearly revealed in their skill and practice. For the most trusted legal advice and unequaled representation, contact the Kavinoky law firm today for a free consultation.

The Penalties For California Sex Crimes Involving Great Bodily Injury and/or Weapons

The Penalties For California Sex Crimes Involving Great Bodily Injury and/or Weapons

California felony sex offenses that result in great bodily injury to anyone other than the accused or an accomplice, and offenses that involve firearms or other dangerous or deadly weapons, will result in severe and enhanced punishment for the accused. The experienced sex crime defense attorneys at The Kavinoky Law Firm are the key to avoiding these devastating penalties.

An individual convicted of inflicting great bodily injury during the commission or attempted commission of a felony sex offense will receive a consecutive three-year prison sentence in addition to the punishment that he or she receives for the underlying offense. If the victim’s injury resulted in a coma or paralysis or if the injured victim was over 70 years of age, the accused will receive an additional and consecutive five-year sentence. If the injured victim is a child under the age of 5, the accused will receive a four, five or six-year consecutive enhancement. It should be noted that when three sentencing options are available, the judge is required to impose the middle term unless aggravating or mitigating circumstances support either the higher or lower term. The enhancement will be the same if the injured victim is an intimate partner of the accused, meaning his or her heterosexual or same-sex partner, the person with whom he or she lives, the person whom he or she is dating, or a person with whom the accused was formerly involved.

An individual convicted of inflicting great bodily injury on a victim during the commission or attempted commission of certain acts of rape, spousal rape, rape in concert, lewd or lascivious acts, forced penetration, sodomy or oral copulation will also receive a five-year enhancement for each violation. In circumstances such as this, where a consecutive sentence is not mentioned, it means that the judge has the option whether to impose the enhancement consecutively or concurrently. It must be noted that if two or more enhancements are applicable to the same victim for the same offense, only the highest great bodily injury enhancement will be imposed, however, enhancements for other situations may still apply.

An individual convicted of being armed with a firearm or of using a dangerous or deadly weapon while committing or attempting to commit a felony sex offense, will receive an additional one-year enhancement. If the individual was acting in concert with another during the offense or attempted offense, and knew that the other person was armed, he or she will receive an additional and consecutive term of one, two or three years.

An individual convicted of being armed with a weapon during the commission or attempted commission of a rape, spousal rape, rape in concert, sodomy, lewd or lascivious acts, oral copulation or forced penetration, will receive a one, two or five-year additional enhancement. An individual convicted of using a firearm or deadly weapon under those same circumstances will receive an additional three, four or ten-year enhancement.

An individual convicted of using a firearm during the commission or attempted commission of a felony sex offense will receive an additional and consecutive term of three, four or ten years. If the firearm is an assault weapon, the accused will receive an additional and consecutive term of five, six or ten years.

It should be noted that an individual convicted of using a firearm during the commission or attempted commission of lewd or lascivious acts, rape, spousal rape, rape in concert, the continuous sexual abuse of a child, sodomy, oral copulation, sexual penetration or the aggravated sexual assault of a child, will not be granted probation. It should also be noted that only one enhancement (the one that imposes the greatest sentence) will be applied for a crime involving a weapon, however other enhancements for other circumstances (for example, great bodily injury) may be additionally imposed.

To learn more about sex offense penalties and defenses, contact the outstanding criminal defense attorneys at The Kavinoky Law Firm today for a free consultation.